Norcal Vdubs
Norcal Vdubs
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Northern California's Largest VW Enthusiasts Group

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

Engine Mounting Bolt over #3

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
Mateo
Admin
Mateo

Engine Mounting Bolt over #3 Empty
PostSubject: Engine Mounting Bolt over #3   Engine Mounting Bolt over #3 EmptySat Sep 18, 2010 2:00 am

Ok, So some progress tonight. Engine is in, sort of.

Might latest question is this. She has the original '69 tranny but a '71 dual port engine. I am not sure but I think I have a problem. The motor has the threaded insert over #3 for the mounting bolt.

I didn't pay too much attention when I had the tranny AND the motor out because I am a noob, but the tranny seems to have a grove the bolt head wants to fit into.

I didn't want to wrench down on it too tight until I did some research?

Has it just been a long day and I am imagining things or is this possible? I am going to go do some looking but I thought I would give you guys first dibs...
Back to top Go down
Davids74Super
SacTown
Davids74Super

PostSubject: Re: Engine Mounting Bolt over #3   Engine Mounting Bolt over #3 EmptySat Sep 18, 2010 2:26 am

Not positive, but I'm pretty sure that's how they all are. Not too sure what the groove the bolt fits into would be though.
Back to top Go down
Mateo
Admin
Mateo

PostSubject: Re: Engine Mounting Bolt over #3   Engine Mounting Bolt over #3 EmptySat Sep 18, 2010 2:39 am

From what I am reading, I think the early pre-doghouse transmissions used a similar half moon bolt as on the starter side. When the doghouse oil cooler came along they added the threaded insert over the #3 side. My Bently manual for a '69 shows a bolt on that side.

Maybe I can add some washers or something to keep the bolt head from hanging up on the lip on the transmission...
Back to top Go down
Bradford
Admin
Bradford