Norcal Vdubs
Norcal Vdubs
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Northern California's Largest VW Enthusiasts Group

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

HO Scale Slot Car Racing.

Go down 
+5
Bradford
Mateo
Bahabuggin
60herbie53
Jim Douglas Jr
9 posters
Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next
AuthorMessage
Jim Douglas Jr
SacTown
Jim Douglas Jr

HO Scale Slot Car Racing. Empty
PostSubject: HO Scale Slot Car Racing.   HO Scale Slot Car Racing. EmptyThu Jun 09, 2011 4:08 am

It was discussed elsewhere on a wandering topic, but the search feature on this message board system doesn't seem to actually work, so I'm starting a new topic.
It may look like a lot to read, but if you have any interest, take the time. There's only so much because I know a little bit about it and might as well put it all down here now.

I've been playing with and racing HO slot cars for 35 years. Although it's not rocket science, it's not quite as simple as it sounds. The quality, design, speed, and even voltage compatibility, of slot cars has changed quite a bit over the years.

If we wanted to do this, a few things have to be considered. Do we want to pull out our oldies from storage and put them back in service? This is really the most fun since you're repairing and using something you remember.
The advantage of going new is that you can buy cars at hobby shops, but, new and older cars are just as easily found on eBay, AND many of the old designs are being reproduced, both chassis and bodies.

In club competition, generally cars of virtually identical design are raced together with rules as to what can and can't be modified on them. The problem is, there are now over a dozen basic designs out there with scores of variations.

For amateurs, I like to lump cars from similar eras and performance levels together, and let the owners tweak them up as they see fit.